Akufo-Addo gives eight women ministerial positions his second term


President Akufo-Addo has appointed 8 women into ministerial positions in his second term in office.

They include the Member of Parliament (MP) for Tano North in the Ahafo Region and former Deputy Minister for Gender, Children and Protection, Freda Prempeh, who has been nominated as Minister of State- Designate for Works and Housing.

The former Minister responsible for Procurement, Sarah Adowa Safo, now heads the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection.

Mavis Hawa Koomson, who is the former Special Initiatives now head the Fisheries Ministry.

Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey and Cecilia Abena Dapaah get to retain their seat at the Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration and Sanitation and Water Resource Ministries respectively.

Ursula Owusu-Ekuful also retained her Ministry,however. It has been given an additional responsibility as it’s been recaptured as the Communications and Digitalisation Ministry.

Two of the women have been appointed to Regional Ministries.

Justina Marigold Assan and Justina Owusu- Banahene has been nominated for the Central and Bono Regions respectively.

In all, President Akufo-Addo has appointed 30 Ministers, and 16 Regional Ministers, bringing the total number of Ministers to 46.

He has assured not to appoint more than 85 ministers for his second term in office.

The presidency released the full list of the ministerial appointments for the next government in a statement on Thursday, January 21, 2021.

The names have been submitted to Parliament for vetting and approval.

(Visited 18 times, 1 visits today)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here