Okoe Boye appointed to the NHIA board


Okoe Boye appointed to the NHIA board

Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye, former Minister of Health, Board Chairman of the Korlebu Teaching Hospital and former Ledzokuku MP has been appointment to the board of the NHIA by the President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

This was disclosed by Mr Kwaku Agyemang-Manu, Minister of Health last week when he Inaugurated a 17-member Governing Board of the NHIA, with a call on them to address the shortcomings of the scheme to achieve Universal Health Coverage.

There were earlier speculations that Dr. Okoe Boye could be appointed CEO of the NHIA, but that did not materialize as he was only made a member of the board instead.

Also read: Paracetamol is a dangerous drug.

The 17-member Board is chaired by Dr. Ernest K.P. Kwarko, an Obstetrician and Gynaecologist and a Health Officer at Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital.

The other members are;

Dr Lydia Dsana-Selby, Chief Executive Officer of NHIA; Mr Kwabena Boadu Oku-Afari from the Ministry of Health; Dr Patrick Kuma-Aboagye, Director-General of the Ghana Health Service and Dr Justice Ofori, Member, National Insurance Commission as members.

The rest are;

Mrs. Elizabeth Aggrey-Ampiah, Member, Social Security and National Insurance Trust; Dr Isaac Charles Noble Morrison, Member of the Medical and Dental Profession; Professor Christian Agyare, Member of the Pharmacy Profession; Mr Kwasi Asante, Member, Accountancy or Finance Profession and Mr Samuel Erickson Abakah, a Legal Practitioner; Dr Sylvester Yaw Oppong, Health Professional, Odeneho Akosua Frema Dwabeng II and Madam Joyce Konokie Zempare, both from the National Health Insurance Scheme.

Also included in the list are pending members from the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Social Welfare and a member of Organized Labour.

(Visited 56 times, 1 visits today)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here